top of page


Shape shifters in Biology

Our speakers come from all corners of the country (and even the globe) to share their knowledge in this noteworthy conference. Have a look at their bios below to learn more about their backgrounds and the insights you’ll hear from them at our conference. If you’d like to learn more, simply get in touch.

Prof. A.P. Dash.jpg

Dr. Balaram

Vice Chancellor, AIPH University, Bhubaneswar

Prof. Aditya Prasad Dash, a renowned scientist, is the Vice Chancellor of Central University of Tamil Nadu. His research interests are majorly focused on vector-borne diseases. He has devoted his life in the field of science with more than 250 publications and guided many students. He has achieved many prestigious awards throughout his entire journey of research including Padma Shri award (2022), Dr. T.R. Rao award of ICMR (1991) for young scientists, Oration award of Indian Society for Communicable Diseases (2002), Dr A.P. Ray award (2012), INBUSH award (2016), Rashtriya Gaurav Award (2018) to name a few.

Dr. G. Venkatasubramanian.png

Dr. Deepa Subramanyam

NIMHANS, Bengaluru

Dr. Ganesan Venkatasubramanian is a Professor of Psychiatry at NIMHANS (National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences), Bangalore. He is a clinician-cum-scientist who has made immense contributions in the fields of schizophrenia, brain imaging, neuroimmunology, neurometabolism and several other areas of biological psychiatry. Recognising his contributions to medical sciences, he was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology in the year 2018.


Dr. Shubha Tole

IITB, Mumbai

Dr. Rahul Purwar, current associate professor at IIT-B and founder of ImmunoACT, is a pioneering scientist in the field of tumour immunology and CAR-T cell therapy. In 2018, he founded ImmunoACT and is currently driving the clinical trials towards CAR-T cell immunotherapy for cancer patients in collaboration with Tata Memorial Hospital.

Dr. Malay Patra.jpg


TIFR, Mumbai

Dr. Malay Patra, Assistant Professor in Department of Chemical Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, is a young and enthusiastic researcher with interests in radiopharmaceuticals and platinum-based anticancer drugs in the field of cell biology. He has developed novel radioactive immuno-PET tracers for detection of prostate cancer and is currently working on synthesis and characterization of materials for biological or medicinal applications.

Dr. Shashank Tripathi.jpg

Dr. Shashank Tripathi, Ph.D

IISC, Bengluru

Dr. Shashank Tripathi is an Assistant Professor in Microbiology and Cell Biology Department, Centre for Infectious Disease Research, Indian Institute of Science. His group is working on understanding virus-host interactions of emerging human RNA viruses including Influenza, SARS-CoV-2, and Flaviviruses and to further translate this knowledge for the development of broad-spectrum antivirals and vaccines. He was awarded Wellcome Trust India Alliance Intermediate fellowship in 2018.


Dr. Samir S. Khariwala, MD, MS

University of Minnesota, US

Dr. Samir S. Khariwala is Department Chair, Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, University of Minnesota Medical Centre. He has devoted his research career in the diverse field of oral/ head and neck cancer caused by tobacco consumption. He is working in collaboration with Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai to study the population of Indian subcontinent and to understand the carcinogen levels in smokeless tobacco products. His main goal is focused on the expansion of technological advancement in research and he encourages his fellow medical students to follow the same.


Dr. Vanita Noronha, MD, DM

TMH, Mumbai

Dr. Vanita Noronha is an eminent medical oncologist in Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai. She is working on metronomic chemotherapy to bridge the gap between basic research and clinics. She is leading projects in head and neck cancer with great enthusiasts. Dr. Noronha has received institutional research funding from Amgen, Sanofi/Aventis, and Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories. She has received many reputed awards in her field of research.

Learn More
Dr. Jitendra Shinde.jpg

Dr. Jayendra Shinde, Ph.D

Croosscpe, USA

Dr. Jayendra Shinde is a Co-Founder and CEO at Crosscope in California. Their company mainly focuses on development of pathologist-centric next generation artificial intelligence tools, such as ORION AI and SCOPE H&E AI. These tools are transforming digital pathology with ability to make more informed, accurate and faster decisions. Their company, Crosscope has been awarded with Indian Achiever’s Award 2021-2022 as the “Best Promising Start-Up” under the healthcare category for developing next-generation digital pathology with the ability to improve cancer care and patient outcome with the power of AI.


Dr. Kalpita Gawit, Ph.D


Dr. Kalpita Gawit, a medical scientist at ICMR-NIIH, Maharashtra, has worked with Tata Memorial Centre with immense experience and contributions in the fields of clinical pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and toxicology studies as well as study of polypharmacy incidence and impact on Indian geriatric oncology patients.

Learn More

Dr. Abhijit Majumder, Ph.D

IITB, Mumbai

Dr. Abhijit Majumder is an Assistant Professor at Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT Bombay. He has received Wellcome Trust-DBT India Alliance Early Career Fellow and member of Global Young Academy. He has published in many internationally reputed journals including Science and received national and international awards for his research including Peeble Travel Grant Award and Alan Gent runners up award from Adhesion Society USA, and TR35 Young Investigators award by Technology Review MIT, USA. His present research interest includes stem cell, cell mechanics and microfluidics.

Don’t Miss Out


Organizing Committee, NRSM 2022
Khanolkar Shodhika,

ACTREC-TMC, Sector 22, Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, MH, IN - 410210

e-mail: nrsm[at]actrec[dot]gov[dot]in

Telephone: (022) 2740 5000/ 6873 5000 Extension: 5331

bottom of page